VC Commissions Upgraded Lecturers’ Lounge

The symbolic handing over of the facility to the UTAG President (second left)

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Emmanuel Ohene Afoakwa has commissioned an upgraded lecturers’ lounge on April 9, 2024, at the main campus, Tesano.

Speaking at the commissioning, the VC expressed his utmost satisfaction with the quality of work undertaken. He reiterated his statement made at the 2024 edition of the annual staff durbar to, in addition to the improved student experience, prioritize staff welfare.

“Last year was the student experience and therefore many projects were undertaken and completed. As part of the vision for this year, we will make sure that, we give staff a much better experience and improve the working environment so that every staff who comes to work will feel like this is his/her second home,” he said.

The VC (left) addressing the attendees at the commissioning

Prof. Afoakwa stressed, that though the lounge had been handed over to the UTAG President for the use of faculty, Senior Members (Non-Academic) are entitled to access it.

“Whatever your role is, please, let us work as one for the good of this great institution to make it better than what we have now,” Prof added while further charging staff to take good care of the facility.

On his part, the President of UTAG, GCTU Chapter, Dr. Patrick Acheampong, on behalf of faculty, expressed his profound gratitude to the VC and Management for granting their request for the lounge. He described the facility as a morale booster and promised to take care of it.

Interior of the lounge

The facilities available at the upgraded lounge include a DSTV, fridge, water dispenser and wi-fi connectivity to cater to the comfort of Senior Members.

Present at the commissioning were the Pro VC, Prof. Robert Hinson, the Registrar, Mr. Emmanuel Baidoo, the Director of Finance, Mr. Ernest Yaw Apraku and the Director of Internal Audit, Mr. Kennedy Oppong Fosu.

The rest were the Dean of Student Affairs, Prof. Michael Nana Owusu-Akomeah, the Dean of Engineering, Dr. Ruhiya Abubakar, the Dean of FoCIS, Dr. William Leslie Brown-Acquaye, the Director of University Relations, Dr. Nusrat-Jahan Abubakar, the Director of Academic Affairs, Dr. Godwin Utuka and many others.

A group picture of the VC, Management and staff after the commissioning

Issued by University Relations Directorate
Wednesday April 10, 2024