GCTU Holds Maiden Alumni Association Executive Elections

Ms. Magdalene Lamptey polled 52.26% of the votes to emerge victorious in the Presidential election

The Ghana Communication Technology University’s Alumni Association has held its maiden elections on April 12, 2024 to elect executives to steer the affairs of the Association for the next two years.

A total of nine candidates filed to contest for positions in six slots namely President, Vice President, Secretary, Organizing Secretary, Assistant Organizing Secretary and Public Relations Officer (PRO). Voting was conducted electronically.

The presidential slot was keenly contested by three candidates. At the end of voting, Ms. Magdalene Lamptey garnered 127 votes representing 52.26%, while her two contenders, Mr. Frank Lovejoy Ayi and Mr. Clinton Kwadwo Kwei Ofosu, secured 88 votes (36.21%) and 28 (11.52%) respectively.

Ms. Josephine Abena Opoku defeated her only opponent, Mr. Isaac Gray, to be elected as Secretary. The candidates for the Vice-Presidential, Organizing Secretary, Assistant Organizing Secretary and PRO positions all ran unopposed. No candidate contested the treasure position, rendering that position vacant.

Giving her victory speech, the President-elect, Ms. Magdalene Lamptey, extended her profound appreciation to God and all who helped in her campaign and voted for her. “The journey has not been easy, through it all, GCTU Alumni and the entire University community have won. Let us come together to make the Alumni vibrant,” she said. Ms. Lamptey emphasized, that she and her executives will do their best to ensure that there is teamwork, dedication, diligence, accountability and transparency for the betterment of the Alumni Association. She called for unity among the executives and pledged to bring on board the losing candidates for the success of the Alumni Association.

Members of the Electoral Team presiding over the e-voting process

The Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Mr. Philip Larry Anguah, on behalf of the EC team, expressed his profound gratitude to the candidates for their comportment, cooperation, constructive complaints and exhibition of good sportsmanship.

“Elections are over now and we must unite as a stronger force for the betterment of the Association,” he said. Mr. Anguah once again congratulated the Alumni Association President-elect, Ms. Lamptey and the EC Team for the tact and professionalism exhibited in the conduct of the maiden elections. “It has been a tough journey but we are here today, we give glory to God for successful elections,” he said.

The Director of University Relations and Co-chair of the EC, Dr. Nusrat-Jahan Abubakar, briefly expressed her excitement at having substantive executives to take over the mantle of leadership in the Association and steer it towards growth and prosperity. She thanked the contestants for their patience and resilience during the electoral process.

Dr. Abubakar lauded the efforts of the officers of the Alumni Relations and Institutional Advancement Department and the Electoral Committee for superintending a transparent process that had given equal opportunity to all the contestants.

Voting took place from 9am to 4pm and was keenly monitored by the agents of candidates

Issued by University Relations Directorate
Monday April 15, 2024